When It’s Just Too Much

Elijah was depressed.

Even coming off the greatest victory of his prophetic career – the defeat of the prophets of Ba’al on Mount Carmel, Elijah’s life was once again in danger.  Incensed at her lopsided defeat, Queen Jezebel sent a message to Elijah threatening to kill him.  Elijah, knowing what Jezebel was capable of, left his servant behind in Beersheba and ran for his life into the wilderness.  Alone, hungry, and afraid, Elijah found a tree, sat down in its shade, and prayed for death.

“I can’t do this anymore,” he cried.  “I’ve done all I can.  I’m no better than any of the prophets who have come before me.  Take me now, Lord.  I don’t know how much more of this I can take.”

Elijah closed his eyes.  When he opened them, an angel was touching him.  The angel had come with food, water, and a message.

“Arise and eat,” the angel said, “For the journey is too great for you.”

After eating, drinking, and resting, Elijah arose and “on the strength of that food traveled forty days and forty nights.” [2 Kings 19:8]

For me, the beauty of this story is the assurance that just because a task or journey or challenge is too great for me – and even when those limitations in my life become painfully, yes depressingly, obvious – God provides.  God does not condemn the weak; He strengthens.  God does not discard the broken; He heals.  And when I do find the strength to stand, I can go forward, knowing that by the power of God, He will get me where I need to be, even if I fall down along the way.

When life gets to be too much, we may be overwhelmed.  We may even be depressed.  But one thing we will never be is alone.

One Response to When It’s Just Too Much

  1. Ben,

    I appreciate your insight. Your next to the last paragraph is well-written and on point. Thanks. It was helpful to me.

Leave a Reply

